nature song

Let It Be A Tail

leave a comment »

If I must die
A poem by
Refaat Alareer

If I must die, 
you must live 
to tell my story 
to sell my things
to buy a piece of cloth
and some strings,
(make it white with a long tail) 
so that a child, somewhere in Gaza
while looking heaven in the eye 
awaiting his dad who left in a blaze-
and bid no one farewell 
not even to his flesh 
not even to himself-
sees the kite, my kite you made, flying up above
and thinks for a moment an angel is there
bringing back love
If I must die
let it bring hope
let it be a tale
If I must die A poem by Refaat Alareer

KITES

#LetItBeATale 

My sister @ZeidaniYufanyi
 just sent me a picture from #Berlin.

Refaat loved her poetry, helped her publish one of her poems, and always asked whether she had written more.
Berlin 10 December 2023, From Mai Zeidani

London 9 Dec 2023, From Ronnie Barkan
London 9 Dec 2023, From Ronnie Barkan
16.12.2023 Salvador Bahia

Written by naturesong

December 15, 2023 at 10:22

Leave a comment